11 new faces in BJP’s record of 70 candidates for Assam polls

by akoloy

In its first record of 70 candidates for Assam elections, the BJP named 11 new faces — changing sitting occasion MLA, moreover fielding nominees in seats earlier held by ally Asom Gana Parishad and former accomplice Bodoland Peoples’ Front.

The BJP dropped its sitting MLAs of Sonari, Bihpuria, Lahowal, Ratabari, Silchar, Barkhola, Howraghat Diphu and Nalbari from the candidate record that was introduced from New Delhi on Friday.

In Sonari, sitting MLA Nabanita Handique was changed by Dharmeswar Konwar. The occasion gave ticket to Amiyo Kumar Bhuyan in Bihpuria, changing MLA Debananda Hazarika.

MLA Rituparna Barua was changed by Binod Hazarika in Lahowal. In Ratabari, the occasion gave ticket to Bijoy Malakar rather than MLA Kripanath Mallah.

Former Deputy Speaker Dilip Kumar Paul was not nominated this time from Silchar and Dipayan Chakraborty changed him. Barkhola MLA Kishore Nath was changed by Amalendu Das, Howraghat legislator Joyram Engleng’s identify was axed this time and Dorsing Ronghang was nominated in his place.

In Diphu, Sum Ronghang was changed by Bidya Sing Engleng, whereas Jayanta Malla Baruah changed sitting MLA Ashok Sharma in Nalbari.

BJP fielded Krishna Kamal Tanti, a brand new candidate, from Rangapara because the sitting MLA died.

The occasion additionally nominated former Congress minister Ajanta Neog, who had joined the BJP in January, from Golaghat.

The BJP additionally fielded candidates in 4 constituencies earlier held by the AGP, together with the celebrated Barhampur seat of former chief minister Prafulla Kumar Mahanta.

The occasion fielded Jitu Goswami in Barhampur, Diganta Kalita in Kamalpur, Tarang Gogoi in Naharkatiya and Manab Deka in Lakhimpur.

The BJP additionally introduced candidates in Panery, Majbat and Kalaigaon that had been held by its former ally BPF.

Biswajit Daimary will contest from Panery, Jitu Kishan from Majbat and Madhuram Deka from Kalaigaon.

The state goes to polls in three phases, beginning on March 27. Votes will probably be counted on May 2

Source link

You may also like

Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

We are happy to introduce our Youtube Channel

Subscribe to get curated news from various unbias news channels
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap