How You Can Endure 7 Minutes Of ‘Nail-Biting Terror’ With NASA As It Tries To Land Its $2.9 Billion …

by akoloy


NASA’s Mars 2020 mission is about to succeed in the “red planet” and make a daring touchdown.

Its $2.9 billion Perseverance rover—nicknamed “Percy”—would be the largest, heaviest and most refined rover ever despatched to Mars. 

Following on-line what occurs to “Percy” (and the solar-powered Ingenuity Mars Helicopter experiment strapped to its stomach) live on NASA TV on YouTube on Thursday, February 18 goes to contain some nervous moments.

Here’s how you can comply with all the things on-line:

MORE FROM FORBES$3 Million Martian ‘Drone With Claws’ Set For Red Planet As NASA Prepares To Make Aviation History

When is NASA touchdown on Mars?

Touchdown is scheduled for about 12:55 p.m. PST/3:55 p.m. EST on Thursday, February 18, 2021. That’s 8:55 p.m. GMT/UTC and 9:55 p.m. CET.

There’s a pleasant countdown timer here.

How to stream NASA’s Mars touchdown stay

Live protection and commentary of the touchdown can be beamed throughout the globe from NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) in California from 1 hour 40 minutes earlier than the touchdown time (11:15 a.m. PST/2:15 p.m. EST).

You can watch on NASA TV, NASA’s website, YouTube, Twitch and the NASA App. There’s additionally a Spanish-language stream.

How to comply with NASA’s Mars touchdown on-line

For fixed updates from NASA’s JPL throughout the descent go to Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn.

There’s additionally a particular virtual guest experience that provides you with notifications and mission updates, in addition to a toolkit of assets and multimedia.

What will occur throughout NASA’s Mars touchdown?

It’s going to be a nail-biting “seven minutes of terror” as “Percy” slows down and makes an attempt to land in that brief time. It can be considerably just like the daring landing of NASA’s Curiosity rover back in 2012.

It additionally takes about seven minutes for the alerts to get again to Earth from Mars, so by the point we hear that “Percy” has entered the Martian ambiance it’s going to have already landed … or crashed.

The seven minutes goes to go one thing like this:

  • Descend by way of Martian ambiance at 12,000 mph/20,000 kph.
  • A parachute and powered descent to sluggish the rover right down to about 2 mph/3 kph.
  • A “sky crane” on the descent stage to decrease the rover on three cables to land on six wheels at Jezero Crater.
  • Touchdown on Mars!

Where is ‘Percy’ going to land?

The 28 miles/45 kilometers-wide Jezero Crater is considered a 4 billion-year-old river delta—and it’s simply potential that its clay may maintain indicators of historical microbial life. It’s on the western facet of Isidis Planitia, a large influence basin simply north of the Martian equator. 

Where to see the primary pictures from Mars

As quickly as “Percy” lands in Jezero Crater it is going to ship again pictures—and this is where you can see them.

The rover can also be geared up with a sequence of cameras to document the descent, so we must always get a number of “as-live” pictures, too.

Wishing you clear skies and extensive eyes.





Source link

You may also like

Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

We are happy to introduce our utube Channel

Subscribe to get curated news from various unbias news channels
0 Shares
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap